An exciting time to marry….

I’ve been thinking a lot recently about how fortunate I am to have married in 2012.

I’ve been thinking of all the great friends I have made during the planning of my wedding, friends who have all had their day, their way.

With more and more Brides and Grooms financing their own weddings people are giving themselves permission to have the day that they want, rather than giving in to the demands of others.

We had exactly the day we had wanted, our families supported us financially, but thankfully they were happy for us to go ahead and do things our way. There were things that they asked us to consider and there were things we did because we wanted to honour our families, but everything else we did because we wanted to.

Our first wish was to have a relaxed feel to our wedding, the second was that our guests were thoroughly fed and watered, our final wish was that everyone had fun.

We got married in a small beach bar in Trevaunance Cove, Cornwall. One of my favourite memories of the day was walking down from the holiday cottage my parents had rented, with my parents and bridesmaids, the sun was shining and all the holiday makers looked shocked and delighted to see us there.

Walking down to Schooners Bar, Trevaunance Cove, Cornwall

Our ceremony was simple and beautiful and I love that we were so close to the sea.

After the ceremony we and our guests feasted on a Cornish Cream Tea and chilled lemonade and we started having our photos taken on the beach.

Then we headed up to our marquee which was located in a local farmers field on the headland, looking out over the Cornish coastline.

That’s when the real fun began!

It started with the ‘Sports Day Races’!

I’m not going to lie, I was nervous that it was going to be a flop, that no-one would want to get involved, being dressed in all their finery and all! I had no need to worry, all our guests loved the races and anyone who didn’t want to race had great fun watching the chaos on the track. It was such a great ice-breaker and it just came from a silly idea I had in the first weeks of us being engaged.

Bride and Groom Racing
Wedding Day Races
Wheelbarrow Races

Then we had our “Wedding Cake Competition”, we asked our guests to bring along an entry to the cake competition if they so wished, we were overwhelmed with the generosity of our guests and their willingness to be involved, we ended up with 21, yes that’s right, 21 ‘wedding cakes’ to judge, each different, special and unique in their own way. Originally we had planned to judge the competition ourselves, but fearing that it would be too difficult we put it to the general vote and had each guest vote for their favourite cake. The winner was a fabulous rainbow inspired creation made by one of my beautiful bridesmaids.

We had no ‘colour’ for our wedding, it was a collection of colours that (I think) all complemented each other.

A big part of how we achieved the wedding we wanted was through lots of DIY. With the resurgent interest in crafts and the hand-made, many brides and grooms are choosing to use DIY as a way of getting the look that they want whilst staying within budget.

A wedding is a big deal, there’s lots of stress attached, I make the above sound so simple, but like many brides I tortured over every detail, and the fact that whenever I told anyone about our plans I received raised eyebrows and ‘oh, that’s different’ made me doubt the wedding that we had planned. I am so glad that we stuck to our guns, that we weren’t swayed by people’s opinions of what a wedding ‘should’ be. I’m so glad that more and more brides are doing their own thing, and following their hearts.

Tough as it is Brides-to-be, if you have a dream of how your wedding should be, stick to your guns and do it your way.

I’d love to know how you are planning to personalise your wedding day and make it true to you and your husband-to-be. Alternatively if you are having doubts or encountering opposition to your ideas please feel free to share your situation with us here, I know a fabulous bunch of ladies, who helped me while I was planning my wedding who I’m sure will drop by to offer their pearls of wisdom.

So what are you doing/ what did you do to make your wedding day reflect you?

What are your thoughts?

