I get by with a little help from my friends (and family)….

Firstly, apologies for the delay in getting this post out tonight. I’ve spent ages trying to learn how to use code to exclude a picture from the gallery I have included. Anyway’s I’ve had no success so I’m just publishing it. If anyone knows how to write code and wants to offer me some advice I’d love to hear from you!

Today’s post is all about the fabulous people who helped make our day so perfect!

Our wedding was perfect (for us) it was exactly how we wanted it. We wanted a relaxed affair, with a big focus on friends, family, food and fun! We didn’t want a traditional wedding, it didn’t suit us, so we did things our way and I’m so happy we did.
In the run up to the wedding Neil and I talked about what we’d do differently if we won the lottery, and we came to the conclusion that we wouldn’t change a thing, we’d just have a bit more of what we already had planned.

Now, planning your wedding, doing things differently and doing lots of DIY is all well and good, the problem is if it’s just you, it’s a hell of a lot of work to do! Especially when you are all over-excited and over-emotional because this is YOUR wedding day you are sorting out!

I went down to Cornwall on the Friday before we were to marry (we married on the Monday). It was my first time driving all the way to Cornwall by myself, luckily I had the company of my sister and Neil’s Best Man’s wife, so we gossiped and chatted our way down.

On the Saturday it was last minute shopping, running round Truro.

Sunday was almost ‘The Day’, we spent the day getting our marquee ready. The problem with doing everything yourself is that you get to see the bare bones, and it doesn’t look pretty.

The weather was AWFUL! Fog so thick you couldn’t see 3ft in front of you, sideways rain and wind that whistled through and shook the marquee. But we had a wedding to sort out, so we set to it.

Initially it was pure, unadulterated chaos as we waited for various elements to arrive and for all the lights to be installed (Neil’s a Lighting Designer!). There was lots of waiting round and moving stuff here and there, it was the last few hours of the day where everything came together.

Here are some pictures of the day in action, I think these pictures show how brilliant everyone was, I had over 200 photos that showed various people doing various jobs throughout the day!

We had loads of friends and family there and everyone chipped in and did what they could, and they did so much!

I only had one ‘wobble’, ridiculously it was about the length of the tablecloths, it was a private ‘wobble’ I took myself off to the car and had a bit of a time out, realised I was being a wolly and promptly returned to all my incredible friends and family.

On the morning of the wedding, my bridesmaids, mum, and aunties spent 2 hours dressing our ceremony venue and as I sat having my hair done I realised how lucky I was to have so many incredible people going out of their way to make sure that our day was special and perfect. (I’m going to save pics of this for a later post)

As I sat having my hair done the words for my speech came to me and I wrote them down on a scrap of card.

If I am honest, I don’t even know where to start, with listing everything that everyone did, and I don’t think I’ll ever be able to thank them enough or repay them.

Our day was so perfect because of them!

2 thoughts on “I get by with a little help from my friends (and family)….

  1. My Wonderful Niece Amy and Lovely Neil. (now my Lovely Nephew in-law) put their heart and soul into the wonderful wedding day they created.. many memories of this lovely day i will hold in my heart forever.. xxx

What are your thoughts?

